top of page

Shaikh Mohammad Bin Rashid honours pioneers of reading

Abu Dhabi: Forty-five distinguished Emirati groups and individuals were honoured on Monday by His Highness Shaikh Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, at the UAE Pioneers Award held in Abu Dhabi for their work in promoting the culture of reading in the UAE.

The UAE Pioneers Award was established by Shaikh Mohammad in 2014 and has since then become an annual event that celebrates and recognises the work of Emiratis in their fields of work that have helped them excel in the UAE.

Shaikh Mohammad expressed his pride in the reading initiatives and programmes that were launched after President His Highness Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan declared 2016 as the Year of Reading.

“Today we honour top pioneers who supported culture and reading in the UAE. We are proud of their efforts in nurturing a generation that reads and is well educated. We look forward to their contributions for the future of the UAE and the sustainability of its growth,” said Shaikh Mohammad.

Shaikh Mohammad stressed that efforts are ongoing to consolidate the UAE as a global capital for culture and knowledge, stating that the UAE will reap the fruits of this goal soon.

During the ceremony, the Vice-President received a copy of ‘The Beautiful Farm’, a book written by six-year-old Hafsa Surour, who is the youngest author in the UAE. Shaikh Mohammad wished the young author, and her peers with similar promising talents, success in the field of innovation, so that the UAE can have a new generation of gifted people who contribute to enriching the innovation scene in the UAE in particular, and region in general.

This year’s edition was dedicated to institutions and persons who had taken part in the UAE’s Year of Reading, with the honouring ceremony attended by several high-ranking ministers including Lt Shaikh Saif Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Interior, and Shaikh Mansour Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs. Both ministers were also among the 45 chosen awardees at the event.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page